Helping A Family Who Has Lost Their Beloved Son

We’ve finished our efforts and raised over $3000.00. Thank you!

**Updates continue below**

I waited all day to hear from Amy about her friend’s little boy. Then I got the news. He is gone. To say it isn’t fair is the understatement of the century. I don’t even know Ben and yet I sobbed like I knew him personally. I know mothers and fathers all across America can relate to exactly what I’m saying. What else can we do besides pray and grieve with those who grieve? Amy wrote about her grief over on her blog at Adorable Chaos.

After a few hours of staring at the news, I had to do something besides stare at the screen and cry. The incredible group of bloggers I am connected to felt the same way. So the Bloppy Bloggers on Facebook are now rallying around Amy and that family who lost their son. We are raising money to give to the family to help defray the costs of a funeral. We will also buy a star in the son’s honor.

 

 

Please consider giving a donation here.

100% of the money will be collected will go to this family who is suffering horribly.

 

 

I don’t have the energy to write any more tonight- just please, continue to pray and if you are moved- give.

[Updated 8:00am ET 12/15/12]

Since I posted this last night, we’ve raised $200.00. Thank you to each person who gave something. Our goal is to raise $5000.00. We need 500 people to give $10.00. This family should not have to think about such horrific details like funeral costs. Other bloggers have “donate” buttons as well. If you can’t give, please share the news. Thank you.

star for ben in Sandy Hook tragedy

[Update 11:34am]

As the names and donations come in, I am keeping a running list. When I bring the gift to Amy, I will include a card with every person’s name on it who gave something. There are no words to take away the grief, but at least this family will know that even strangers are mourning alongside with them. They aren’t alone.

[Update 1:20pm]

When I woke up this morning, we’d collected $200.00. Now we’ve collected $638.00. Thank you everyone for spreading the word and giving.

[Update 2:28pm]

From California to Florida to CT, we’ve raised $1100.00 so far. Whatever you all are doing, keep doing it. Tragedy reveals the depth of human wickedness. It also reveals the depth of human kindness. If you go over to Fabulous Blogging’s Facebook page, you will see a list of the bloggers who’ve put a donate button or link on their blog.

[Update 5:16pm]

As of right now, we are about $70.00 shy of $1500.00! I wish I could write a personal thank you note to each and every person who has given something but there are so many of you. This is the plan with the funds. We are going to continue to collect donations through the rest of the weekend. Then we are going to purchase a star in Benjamin Wheeler’s honor along with a star ornament for the family. The rest of the money will go directly to the family.

If you are going to give or have given, you can include a note in the Paypal memo or email me directly and I will MAKE sure every note gets included in the card. The Wheeler family will know that people across America are with them in their grief.

If you didn’t send a message with your donation but would like to, please email me at jddeneen413@gmail.com.

Tonight my kids handed over all of their allowance money.

Even the smallest of hearts are affected deeply by this.

[Update 7:44am 12/16/12]

There is now a facebook page up for Benjamin (started by someone else not in connection with this fundraiser). Please consider going over there if you want to send a message of support.

We are still collecting donations today for the Wheelers. As of this morning, we have $1726.00.
63 generous people from all over the world- America, England, and even Africa!!

If you have a platform on any social media, please continue to share this information. I will be speaking briefly at my local church this morning and hope the congregation will join us in supporting the family as well.

Again, if you so wish, include a message in the Paypal memo for the family. I will make sure they are all included in the card.

I’ll be back this afternoon with another update.

Thank you, thank you.

 

Comments

  1. Thank you for doing this, Julie!!

  2. Bless your heart for initiating this.

  3. I can’t say enough, just as everyone else, thank you Julie.

  4. God bless you for sharing this.

  5. I’m going to look into your post now and see how we can help. Though we’re far away….everyone comes together at a time like this, it doesn’t matter about distance, race, time or anything else. Thank you for starting this.

  6. There are no words…. : ( I’ve been crying on and off since the news broke. Heart wrenching!

    I shared this on my blog fb page.

  7. Thank you so much for organizing this Julie. I’m so happy the donations keep coming in…just posted something on my blog as well.

  8. jenjen0703 says:

    Good for you for helping, Julie. Funerals are crazy expensive, and this family was probably not prepared for funeral expenses. Who would be in a time like this? We don’t think about something happening to our kids at such a young age. I am very sorry for your friend’s friend, as I am for everyone who has been affected by this tragedy…

  9. Loving all the updates… I am so happy to be a part of something so wonderful!

  10. Julie, there are no words for the horror that these families are having to endure. It makes no sense. But you are offering a glimmer of the kindness that is often hidden from the light of day. Beautiful and kinds acts like this won’t heal their broken hearts, but it will help them to make it through this and shows others that for every act of evil, there is an even great act of kindness. Bless your heart for being a role model for others.

  11. Julie, thank you for all that you have done and thank you to all of those who have donated. It is absolutely amazing to see the love and generosity of so many people.:)

  12. Hoping this isn’t Closed. I was hoping some people would join together for families that never expected to be planning a funeral when they sent their kids to school on Friday. My heart goes out to them and all effected by this tragic event.

  13. Wishing you love and comfort at this time.

  14. Claire Thompson says:

    Julie, is it too late to donate? I am just now catching up on e-mails from the last few days so I didn’t see this until now. I clicked on the link you left and it took me to a page which brought me back to your page.

  15. ow…Sherry, sorry to hear your situation,you are so unlckuy. I and an entrecard member too. I wish i won’t face this problem and wish you good luck too!Hope your problem will be solved as soon as possible.Have a nice day !

Trackbacks

  1. […] A Star for Ben: This online fund was set up for a friend of a friend’s son, to collect funds for 5-year-old Ben who passed away today. Here is Amy’s story. Click here to donate. […]

  2. […] A Star for Ben: This online fund was set up for a friend of a friend’s son, to collect funds for 5-year-old Ben who passed away today.Here is Amy’s story. Click here to donate. […]

  3. […] remainder of the funds to give directly to the family, click on the picture and it will take you to Julie’s website where you can make a PayPal donation.  These funds will help defray funeral […]

  4. […] Helping a Family Who Has Lost Their Beloved Son, by Julie […]

  5. […] For the original posting, you can go here: Helping a Family Who Lost Their Beloved Son […]

  6. […] first on my list is to work on the card for the Wheeler family. So many of you have written personal messages and I want to hand write them on a card. […]

  7. […] don’t know how to wrap up this fundraiser we did for the Wheeler family. Under normal circumstances, I might write some celebratory post about the awesomeness of bloggers, […]

  8. […] Julie drove all the way down to meet up with me and Wendy of Bethel Buzz, to bring the Star for Ben and the donation for his family. […]

  9. […] 2012- Christmas. Anderson Cooper. Piano recitals. Newtown. It’s hard to recap December because I’m still in it. You’ve all read it. It was a […]

  10. […] Life According to Julie: Helping a Family Who Has Lost Their Beloved Son. […]

I can't promise I'll respond, but I will check out your blog as a thank you for stopping by!

